Board of Directors

Mr. Steve Karr

Board Chair
Retired Employment Attorney
R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
Dr. Frank James

Board Chair Elect
Co-Chair, Philanthropy Task Force
Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology
Wake Forest School of Medicine

Dr. Edward Abraham

Wake Forest School of Medicine
Mr. Jim Apple

Retired Industrial Engineering Consultant
Mr. Thomas Bornemann

Principal, Carolinas Market
Ernst & Young
Dr. Malcolm McD. Brown

Education Committee Chair
Retired Physician
Ms. Pam Cash

Manager of Financial Planning
Mr. William F. Clingman, III

Retired R.J. Reynolds Executive
Ms. Tracey Banks Coan

Ex officio
Youth Orchestras Council Chair
Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Academic Engagement
Wake Forest University School of Law
Ms. Beth Cox

K-5 Music Teacher
Middle Fork Elementary
Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools
Mr. Jim Dossinger

Retired Exxon Executive
Mr. Brad Friesen

Bell, Davis & Pitt, P.A.
Mr. Gerry Gunzenhauser

GRG Associates
Retired R.J. Reynolds Executive
Rep. Ed Hanes, Jr.

Monticello Park, LLC
Ms. Sonny Haynes

Litigation Associate
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice
Ms. Sue Henderson

Regional Managing Director
Wells Fargo Private Bank
Dr. Charles Hicks

Retired Chair, Fine Arts Department
Winston-Salem State University
Mr. Bill Hollan, III

Principal, Investment Counselor
Arbor Investment Advisors
Dr. Gregory Holthusen

Retired President
Orthopaedic Specialists of the Carolinas, P.A.
Mr. Mark Holton

Executive Vice President & General Counsel
Reynolds American
Ms. Joia M. Johnson

Immediate Past Board Chair
EVP & General Counsel
Hanesbrands, Inc.
Ms. J. Alexandra Johnston

Ex officio
Orchestra Committee Chair
Mr. Steve Koelsch

Senior Vice President & Business Banking Manager
Greater Forsyth Business Banking Team
Wells Fargo
Ms. Barbara Lentz

Associate Professor of Legal Analysis, Writing & Research
Wake Forest University School of Law
Dr. David B. Levy

Artistic Task Force Chair
Professor of Music
Wake Forest University
Mr. Jeff Lindsay

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
Novant Health
Dr. Michael P. Lischke

Director, Northwest AHEC
Assistant Professor, Wake Forest School of Medicine
Mrs. Eileen Major

Retired Human Resources Executive
Ms. Ann Fritchman Merkel

Chief Customer Officer – Intimates
Hanesbrands, Inc.
Dr. Steve Mizel

Human Resources & Governance Committee Chair
Venue Task Force Chair
Innovation Task Force Chair
Retired – Department of Microbiology & Immunology
WFU Health Sciences
Maestro Robert Moody

Ex officio
Music Director
Winston-Salem Symphony
Mr. David L. Olson, C.P.A., M.B.A.

Technology Task Force Chair
Graduate Arts Management Faculty
UNC School of the Arts
Mr. Perry Peterson

Peterson/Gordon Architects, P.A.
Dr. Cindy Rothschild

Nominating Committee Chair
Kilpatrick Stockton, L.L.P.
Dr. Eric J. Sadler

Maetsra D’Walla Simmons Burke

Director of Choral & Vocal Studies
Winston-Salem State University
Mr. Matt Triplett

Associate Attorney – Corporate & Securities
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice
Mrs. Mary Tucker

Retired Insurance Professional
Ms. Claire Tuttle

Community Volunteer
Former Advertising & Marketing Consultant
Mrs. E. Merritt Vale

Ex officio
President & CEO
Winston-Salem Symphony
Ms. Borgia Walker

Finance & Audit Committee
Gift Acceptance Committee Chair
Senior Director, Health & Wellness
Reynolds American
Ms. Debbie Wesley-Farrington

Chorale Council Chair
Cardiology Nurse Manager, Intervention Research Director
Wake Forest Baptist Health
Ms. Yvette Willard

Vice President, Organizational Effectiveness
Reynolds American
Mr. Matt York

Co-Chair, Philanthropy Task Force
Wall Babcock, LLP

69 Years of Symphony Association
Board Chairs

Winston-Salem Symphony
Founded and managed by Salem College 1946 – 1948

Dr. Charles G. Vardell, Jr., Dean, School of Music
Clifford E. Blair, Voice Professor and Head of Voice and Opera Dramatics Departments

The Winston-Salem Symphony expresses its sincere gratitude to the following civic leaders who have served the Winston-Salem Symphony Association as Board Presidents:

Mr. Paul Kolb   1947-1948
Mr. Charles Vardell, Jr.   1949-1950
Mrs. Anne Strickland   1963-1965
Mr. Wade Gallant   1965-1966
Mr. George Mountcastle   1970-1971
Mr. Gene Lucas   1978-1979
Mrs. Madeleine Van Metre   1981-1982
Mr. George Lautemann   1982-1984
Mr. John Willingham   1984-1985
Ms. Nancy Dunn   1985-1988
Mr. Paul Wiles   1988-1990
Mr. John Anderson   1990-1992
Mr. Nick Daves   1992-1993
Mr. Dick Deem   1993-1994
Mr. Jim Fowler   1994-1995
Mr. Gerry Gunzenhauser   1995-1997
Mr. J.D. Wilson   1997-1999
Mr. Lee Martin   1999-2000
Ms. Kim Whitaker   2000-2001
Mr. William R. Watson   2001-2003
Mr. James Dossinger   2003-2005
Dr. Michael Lischke   2005-2007
Mr. Ray McKinney   2007–2009
Mr. Roger Bear 2009-2011
Mr. Michael L. Rogers 2011 – 2013
Ms. Joia M. Johnson 2013-2015
Mr. Steve Karr 2015-2017

Coming Soon:

Don't miss a single exciting concert event during Maestro Moody's farewell season with the Winston-Salem Symphony! From Bolero to Mahler, from the Steep Canyon Rangers to the music of David Bowie and Star Wars, we're pulling out all the stops for 2017/2018.

Learn more.

Concerts & Tickets
Full List of Performances
Concerts by Series
Classics Concerts
Kicked-Back Classics Series
Plugged-In Pops Series
Discovery Concerts for Kids

Tickets and Subscriptions
Box Office Policies
Benefits of Subscribing
Subscriber Entertainment Card
Musicians of the Orchestra
Symphony Chorale
Administrative Staff
Board of Directors
Employment & Auditions
Symphony Vision and Mission
2012-2017 Strategic Plan
Youth Orchestras
P.L.A.Y. Music  NEW!
Educational Programs
Instrument Petting Zoo!
Peter Perret Youth Talent Search
Discovery Concerts for Kids
Donate Now
Corporate Support Opportunities
Advertise with Us!  NEW!
Our Sponsors
Stock Transfers
Planned Giving
Subscribe to our Feed
Press Releases
Advertise with Us!
Musicians Login
Board Login
Chorale Login
Youth Orchestra Login
Bell Davis Pitt BB&T arts council logo NC arts council logo

This project was supported by the N.C. Arts Council, a division of the Department of Natural & Cultural Resources.

The Winston-Salem Symphony receives operational funding from The Arts Council of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County

Educational initiatives made possible with funding by Wells Fargo, The Arts Council of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County and The Winston-Salem and Forsyth County Schools.